IPL 2020 UAE: Mumbai Indians (MI) Team Profile Overview, Stats, Auctions Analysis, Season-Wise Performance, Full Schedule and Squad

Defending champions Mumbai Indians look all set for yet another season of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Mumbai Indians

Defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) are all set to begin their campaign for the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Mumbai Indians, the most successful team in IPL history (four titles) looks solid for this season as well.

Being the last year’s winners, Mumbai Indians will commence the season by playing the opening match against last edition’s runner-ups Chennai Super Kings. The two teams will lock horns at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium of Abu Dhabi on September 19, 2020.

Mumbai Indians: Team Overview

As earlier mentioned, this year’s Mumbai Indians side looks quite decent on-paper and is expected to live up to their name. Moreover, MI’s think-tank with names like Sachin Tendulkar, Mahela Jayawardena, Zaheer Khan, etc. also makes them a deadly side.


Mumbai Indians is undoubtedly one of the smartest franchises in the Indian Premier League. Their team-balance is always top-notch and looks quite similar this year as well. They bat deep with the help of all-rounders such as Kieron Pollard and the Pandya brothers. The brains of skipper Rohit Sharma is also a major plus for them.


Mumbai’s batting is top class, but when it comes to their bowling attack, that’s a big concern for them. MI’s most experienced bowler, Lasith Malinga also pulled out from the tournament. This spin bowling also looks quite inexperienced, which may haunt them in conditions like that of the UAE.

Mumbai Indians: Season Wise Performance

Year CaptainResultTop BatsmanRunsTop BowlerWicketsWin%
2019Rohit Sharma1stQuinton de Kock529Jasprit Bumrah1968.75
2018Rohit Sharma5thSuryakumar Yadav512Hardik Pandya1842.86
2017Rohit Sharma1stParthiv Patel395Jasprit Bumrah2070.59
2016Rohit Sharma5thRohit Sharma489Mitchell McClenaghan1750.00
2015Rohit Sharma1stLendl Simmons540Lasith Malinga2462.50
2014Rohit Sharma4thLendl Simmons394Lasith Malinga1646.67
2013Ricky Ponting/Rohit Sharma1stRohit Sharma538Harbhajan Singh2468.42
2012Harbhajan Singh4thRohit Sharma433Lasith Malinga2258.82
2011Sachin Tendulkar3rdSachin Tendulkar553Lasith Malinga2862.50
2010Sachin Tendulkar2ndSachin Tendulkar618Harbhajan Singh1768.75
2009Sachin Tendulkar7thJP Duminy372Lasith Malinga1835.71
2008Sachin Tendulkar/Harbhajan Singh/Shaun Pollock5thSanath Jayasuriya518Ashish Nehra1250.00

Mumbai Indians: Team Stats

Batting Stats:

  • Most Runs: Rohit Sharma (4001)
  • Most 100s: Sachin Tendulkar, Sanath Jayasuriya, Lendl Simmons, Rohit Sharma, Andrew Symonds, Quinton De Kock (1 each)
  • Most 50s: Rohit Sharma (27)
  • Best Batting Average: Lendl Simmons (40.51)
  • Best Strike Rate: Hardik Pandya (154.78)
  • Most 6s: Kieron Pollard (176)
  • Highest Individual Score: Andrew Symonds (117*)

Bowling Stats:

  • Most Wickets: Lasith Malinga (170)
  • Best Bowling Figures: Alzarri Joseph (6/12)
  • Most 4-Wicket Hauls: Lasith Malinga (6)
  • Most 5 Wicket Hauls: Lasith Malinga (1)

Here is the List of Mumbai Indians IPL 2020 fixtures, venues and match timings

September 19, SaturdayMumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings7:30 PMAbu Dhabi
September 23, WednesdayKolkata Knight Riders vs Mumbai Indians7:30 PMAbu Dhabi
September 28, MondayRoyal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians7:30 PMDubai
October 1, ThursdayKings XI Punjab vs Mumbai Indians7:30 PMAbu Dhabi
October 4, SundayMumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad3.30 PMSharjah
October 6, TuesdayMumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals7.30 PMAbu Dhabi
October 11, SundayMumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals7.30 PMAbu Dhabi
October 16, FridayMumbai Indians v Kolkata Knight Riders7.30 PMAbu Dhabi
October 18, SundayMumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab7.30 PMDubai
October 23, FridayChennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians7.30 PMSharjah
October 25, SundayRajasthan Royals vs Mumbai Indians7.30 PMAbu Dhabi
October 28, WednesdayMumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore7.30 PMAbu Dhabi
October 31, SaturdayDelhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians3.30 PMDubai
November 3, TuesdayMumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad7.30 PMSharjah

Mumbai Indians: 2020 Auction Buys and Trades

Even before the auctions, the Mumbai-based franchise got highly active and traded several players from different franchises. They roped in Trent Boult, Dhawal Kulkarni, and Sherfane Rutherford to their side.

At the auctions, they made an absolute steal after buying the Australian opener Chris Lynn for the base price of INR 2 cr. Apart from Lynn, Nathan Coulter-Nile (INR 8 cr) was their another major buy. MI also bought domestic players like Saurabh Tiwary (INR 50 lac), Mohsin Khan (INR 20 lac), Digvijay Deshmukh (INR 20 lac), and Prince Balwant Rai for INR 20 lac.

Mumbai Indians Full Squad for IPL 2020

Rohit Sharma, Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Dhawal Kulkarni, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan, Quinton de Kock, Rahul Chahar, Sherfane Rutherford, Surya Kumar Yadav, Trent Boult, James Pattinson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Saurabh Tiwary, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai Singh, and Mohsin Khan

Also Read: IPL 2020 UAE: Delhi Capitals (DC) Team Profile Overview, Stats, Auctions Analysis, Season-Wise Performance, Full Schedule and Squad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here