List of IPL Winners and Runner’s Up from 2008 to 2020

In this article, we have compiled a list of the winners and runners-up of all IPL seasons between 2008 and 2020.

IPL Trophy

India’s historic 2007 World Cup triumph led to the formation of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008. Nobody, at that time, knew how the league was going to pan out. As it turns out, the Indian Premier League (IPL), today, is regarded as the biggest T20 franchise tournament played in the world.

As many as 13 editions have been held so far. Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the tournament with 5 winning titles to their name. Chennai Super Kings is the most consistent team, having reached playoffs in all except one season(s) they have participated. expect

IPL Winner List from 2008 to 2020

 Season/Stadium (Final Match)Winner TeamRunner up Team
 2008, DY Patil Stadium Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings
 2009, Wanderers Stadium (South Africa) Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore
 2010, DY Patil Stadium Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians
 2011, M. A. Chidambaram Stadium Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore
 2012, M. A. Chidambaram  Stadium Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings
 2013, Eden Gardens Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
 2014, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab
 2015, Eden Gardens Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
 2016, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers  Bangalore
 2017, Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiant
 2018, Wankhede Stadium Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad
2019, Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
2020, Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals

In this article, we have a compiled a list of the winners and runners-up of all IPL seasons between 2008 and 2019:

1. IPL 2008

Winner: Rajasthan Royals

Runners-up: Chennai Super Kings

Shane Warne led side, Rajasthan Royals took everyone by surprise after beating CSK in the final by 3 wickets. Yusuf Pathan won the Man of the Match in the final for his blistering 56-run knock off 39 balls.

2. IPL 2009

Winner: Deccan Chargers

Runners-up: Royal Challengers Bangalore

A star-studded batting unit of RCB faltered in the final match of 2009 IPL as Deccan Chargers won the game by 6 runs. RCB bowler, Anil Kumble though won the man of the match for his sensational spell of 4 for 16 in 4 overs.

3. IPL 2010

Winners: Chennai Super Kings

Runners-up: Mumbai Indians

The 2010 edition of IPL saw CSK reaching the final for the second time. Much to the delight of their fans, they ended as the winning side on this occasion. They defeated Mumbai Indians by 22 runs in the final.

4. IPL 2011

Winners: Chennai Super Kings

Runners Up: Royal Challengers Bangalore

The 2011 season saw Royal Challengers Bangalore losing the final of the tournament for the second time.  CSK convincingly defeated RCB by 58 runs.

5. IPL 2012

Winners: Kolkata Knight Riders

Runners-up: Chennai Super Kings

Once again, Chennai Super Kings made it to the final. However, KKR denied them their third consecutive title. Riding on a sensational 89-run knock off 48 balls by M Bisla, KKR chased down the 191-run target in 19.4 overs.

6. IPL 2013

Winners: Mumbai Indians

Runners up: Chennai Super Kings

Under the leadership of a new captain in Rohit Sharma, Mumbai Indians won their maiden IPL title in 2013. In pursuit of a 148-run total, CSK could only muster 125 runs in 20 overs. MI won the final by 23 runs.

7. IPL 2014

Winners: Kolkata Knight Riders

Runners up: Kings Eleven Punjab

The 2014 IPL final saw a new team in the finals, i.e, Kings XI Punjab. Though, they couldn’t go on to win the title. KKR won the game by 3 wickets. The game will be remembered for Manish Pandey’s stellar knock of 90 runs off just 50 balls.

8. IPL 2015

Winners: Mumbai Indians

Runners up: Chennai Super Kings

Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings for the second time in an IPL final. Chasing 202, CSK could score 161 in the second innings. Mumbai Indians clinched the second IPL title.

9. IPL 2016

Winners: Sunrisers Hyderabad

Runners up:  Royal Challengers

The 2016 season saw Royal Challengers Bangalore losing an IPL final for the third time. RCB fall short of just 8 runs as SRH clinched their maiden IPL title.

10. IPL 2017

Winners: Mumbai Indians

Runner-up: Rising Pune Supergiants

Mumbai Indians defended just a 128-run total in the final against Rising Pune Supergiants in 2017. Mitchell Jonhson took 3 wickets for just 26 runs in his four overs as MI won the match by 1 run. Krunal Pandya won the Man of the Match for his fighting knock of 47 runs off 38 balls.

11. IPL 2018

Winners: Chennai Super Kings

Runners up: Sunrisers Hyderabad

Coming after two years of suspension from the league, Chennai Super Kings gave their fans third title after winning the final against Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets. Shane Watson was awarded Man of the Match for his match-winning knock of 117 runs off just 57 balls.

12. IPL 2019

Winners: Mumbai Indians

Runners-up: Chennai Super Kings

2019 IPL final witnessed Mumbai Indians beating Chennai Super Kings for the third time in an IPL final. The match went down to the last ball of the final over. MI won the game by 1 run.

13. IPL 2020

Winners: Mumbai Indians

Runners-up: Delhi Capitals

Mumbai Indians won the 13th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL) by beating Delhi Capitals by 5 wickets. Mumbai are the second team after Chennai Super Kings to successfully defend the title.

Also Read: IPL 2020: A complete analysis of the Strengths and Weaknesses of IPL Captains


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here