Patrick Mahomes and the Chiefs become the first back-to-back Super Bowl champions since Tom Brady and the Patriots in 2003-2004

Patrick Mahomes also won his third Super Bowl MVP on Sunday night.

Patrick Mahomes and the Chiefs become the first back-to-back Super Bowl champions since Tom Brady and the Patriots in 2003-2004

(L) Patrick Mahomes; (R) Tom Brady (Via Imago)

The millions of fans of the Kansas City Chiefs will remember the perseverance shown by their team in this year’s NFL. Halfway through the season, many analysts wrote them off. Struggling from multiple offensive inabilities to making it difficult for the playoffs, they had it all.

Nonetheless, at the end of the 2023-24 season, they are the champions, again. The Chiefs had one of the most clutch victories ever.


The Chiefs have now become the second team in the 21st Century to win consecutive Super Bowls in two years. The first one was the New England Patriots, which, under the combination of Bill Belichick and Tom Brady, won two consecutive Super Bowls in 2003-04 seasons. The Chiefs have created the same legacy under Andy Reid and Patrick Mahomes. It seems the duo will give tough competition to Belichick and Brady’s numerous records.

The Super Bowl LVIII game was nothing but an action-packed thriller. The latest Chiefs victory reminded the fans of their last Super Bowl encounter against the Philadelphia Eagles where they also came back from a double-digit deficit.

Unlike their divisional championship game, the Niners started the game well. After a no-scoring first quarter, the Niners led by 10-3 in the second. They went to the dressing room with a lead in the halftime. However, the Chiefs returned staunchly with a 10-0 lead with a third-quarter drive. In the fourth, the Niners clinched nine points against the Chiefs’ six and the game went to OT. The Chiefs scored a needed touchdown in the OT and managed to grab the Vince Lombardi trophy.


Heartbreak for 49ers and Brock Purdy

The 49ers quarterback Brock Purdy had every opportunity to shake hands with Paradise. He even provided the necessary boost to the team with a needed touchdown and covered 255 yards of passing. Unlike his opponent Patrick Mahomes, the QB had a clear game. Nonetheless, these efforts from 2022’s ‘Mr. Irrelevant’ were not enough to seal the Super Bowl victory.

Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes celebrating consecutive SB wins
Kansas City Chiefs and QB Patrick Mahomes celebrating consecutive Super Bowl win (Via Imago)

Despite having a brilliant regular season, Purdy lost to Mahomes in the most crucial game of his life. The game against the Chiefs could have placed him among the elite quarterbacks in history, but that remained a dream. He has to wait for another season.

The NFL 2023-24 season taught the biggest lesson to all fans: The Kansas City Chiefs can never be written off, not even in the days of their hardships. Especially when Patrick Mahomes is under the center playing for them, who grabbed his third Super Bowl MVP title tonight.


In case you missed it:

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!