ODI Cup Super League – A way to qualify for the 2023 ODI World Cup

ODI Cup Super League – A way to qualify for the 2023 ODI World Cup

ODI Cup Super League

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has officially announced the inaugural Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League tournament. With this tournament, ICC aims to bring more ODI cricket.

The Super League will discern a total of 156 games that will be commenced with England’s three-match ODI series against Ireland started from July 30.


But, several questions popped up regarding this tournament comprising, What is this tournament about? Which teams are a part of the inaugural season of the Super League? and so on.

Participation of Teams in League

There will be 13 teams in the league this year with one team to be announced as the eventual champion.

The seven teams which finish at the top will attain automatic qualification for the 2023 ODI World Cup. Alongside India, who as hosts, will directly be qualified for the 2023 ODI World Cup.


If India manages to finish among the Top 7 seven teams, the team that finished at the 8th position will qualify.

The 13 teams rivalling this year are – Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Afghanistan, Ireland, and the Netherlands.

Also read: 10 Guinness World Record’s in Cricket


What happens to the teams which will finish at the bottom?

The five teams that finish at the bottom will still have a chance to qualify for the 2023 World Cup.

The five-bottom placed teams, along with Associate nations, will participate in prominent ODI World Cup Qualifiers, which will discern the prevailing two spots for the 2023 ODI World Cup.

Points distribution in League

The points system is fairly simple as each team will attain 10 points for winning and 0 points for losing a game. In case of a tie, draw, or an abandoned game, both teams will ration 5 points each.


Also read: Women’s T-20 World cup was the most-watched event in the history of women cricket

Teams Face-off in League

Likewise, the ICC Test Championship, not all teams will face each other as part of the Super League. All the team will face only eight of the other 12 competing countries in the three-match series each. It means each team will play a total of 24 league games. All the teams will play four series at home, and four away series.

 As per the current Future Tours Programme (FTP) match-ups, India will not be playing against Pakistan as part of the Super League. Moreover, it must be quoted that not all ODIs in a calendar year are part of the Super League.


Also Read Mithali Raj and Poonam Yadav welcome Ganguly’s announcement on Women’s IPL

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!