WTA Silicon Valley Classic 2021: Alison Riske vs Ana Konjuh Preview, Head to head, Prediction and Live Stream for San Jose Open

This will be the 3rd meeting between Alison Riske and Ana Konjuh with their head to head currently tied at 1-1.

Alison Riske vs Ana Konjuh
Alison Riske vs Ana Konjuh

World number 37, Alison Riske will be up against World number 116, Ana Konjuh in the round of 16 of the San Jose Open on August 4th, 2021.

Alison Riske vs Ana Konjuh: Match Details

  • Tournament: Silicon Valley Classic 2021
  • Match: Alison Riske vs Ana Konjuh
  • Round: Round of 16
  • Date: August 4th, 2021
  • Prize Money: $10,670
  • Venue: San Jose, California, USA
  • Surface: Outdoor Hard Court

Alison Riske vs Ana Konjuh: Preview

Ana Konjuh
Ana Konjuh

Riske reached a career high ranking of 18 in 2019, has won two titles on the WTA Tour and is seeded number 9 in the tournament. Riske was seen playing in the Tour at Wimbledon where she suffered a disappointing loss in the first round. Riske played at the Silicon Valley Classic in 2018 and was knocked in her first match, the round of 32 by Ashley Kratzer in three sets, 4-6, 6-4, 5-7. Riske has already made a better impression this time by reaching the round of 16. In the round of 32, she triumphed over Coco Vandeweghe in straight sets, 6-3, 6-4.

The young 23 year old, Konjuh has won one title on the WTA Tour which she won in 2015 and reached a career high ranking of 20 in 2017 after Wimbledon. However, in September 2017, she underwent a surgery on her right elbow which put her out of the top 500 and eventually, top 1000. In San Jose, Riske was seeded number 4 in the qualifiers and eased through her two qualifying matches in straight sets. In the round of 32, Konjuh sealed an impressive win after defeating World number 52, Marie Bouzkova in three sets, 7-5, 3-6, 7-5. It was a very close match with a difference of only one point in the total points won. However, Konjuh was able to break 8 times compared to Bouzkova who broke 7 times.

Alison Riske vs Ana Konjuh: Head to Head

Alison Riske
Alison Riske

This will be the 3rd meeting between the duo who last met at Cincinnati in 2016 where Riske took the win, 6-7 (6-8), 6-2, 6-2. Their head to head is currently tied at 1-1.

Alison Riske vs Ana Konjuh: Prediction

Ana Konjuh
Ana Konjuh

Riske has not had a great year on the Tour having won only 2 matched throughout 2021 and lost 7. On the other hand, Konjuh has a win-loss record of 29-16. During the hard court season, Riske has only played one match which was at San Jose, while, Konjuh played at Hungary and has played 3 matches at San Jose. Thus, she has settled into the new hard court surface.

Match Prediction: Konjuh to win in three sets.

Alison Riske vs Ana Konjuh: Live Streaming and Where to Watch

Match Timings:

  • Japan: 8:30 am (August 5th)
  • Delhi: 5:00 am (August 5th)
  • New York: 7:30 pm
  • Melbourne: 9:30 am (August 5th)
  • Brazil: 8:30 pm

Official Broadcasters:

The Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic is broadcast live on Tennis Channel and streamed on Tennis Channel Plus. It will also be televised by ESPN.

Also read: WTA Silicon Valley Classic 2021: Women’s Singles, Draw Preview, Analysis and Prediction for San Jose Open