ATP Washington 2021: Jannik Sinner vs Emil Ruusuvuori Preview, Head to head, Prediction and Live Stream for Citi Open

Jannik Sinner will take on Emil Ruusuvuori at the 2021 Washington Open in their 2nd career meeting.

Emil Ruusuvuori vs Jannik Sinner
Emil Ruusuvuori vs Jannik Sinner

World number 24 Jannik Sinner will be up against World number 69 Emil Ruusuvuori in the round of 32 of the Citi Open on August 4th, 2021.

Match Details: Jannik Sinner vs Emil Ruusuvuori

TournamentATP Citi Open 2021
MatchJannik Sinner vs Emil Ruusuvuori
RoundRound of 32
DateAugust 4th, 2021
Prize Money$13,300
VenueWashington DC, USA
SurfaceHard Court

Jannik Sinner vs Emil Ruusuvuori: Preview

Jannik Sinner
Jannik Sinner

The young 19-year-old, Jannik Sinner turned pro in 2018 and reached a career-high ranking of 17 earlier this year in May. He has won 2 ATP Tour titles throughout his career, including one this year which he won at the Great Ocean Road Open. At the 2020 French Open, he became the youngest quarterfinalist since Novak Djokovic in 2006.

Sinner withdrew from the Tokyo Olympics and thus, was last seen playing at the Atlanta Open. Despite being seeded number 2, Sinner lost in his first match, the round of 16 against Christopher O’Connell. He is seeded number 5 at Washington and will be hoping to make it back into the top 20 rankings.

Emil Ruusuvuori reached his career-high ranking of 69 earlier this month and is yet to win an ATP Tour Title. Similarly to Sinner, Ruusuvuori last played in Atlanta but reached much further into the competition by reaching the semi-finals where he lost to Brandon Nakashima. In Washington, Ruusuvuori triumphed in the round of 64 against Prajnesh Gunneswaran in three sets, 2-6, 6-1, 6-1.

Jannik Sinner vs Emil Ruusuvuori: Head to Head

Emil Ruusuvuori
Emil Ruusuvuori

This will be the 2nd meeting between the duo who last met in 2021 at Miami where Sinner took the win in straight sets, 6-3, 6-2. Sinner currently leads their head to head tie, 1-0.

Jannik Sinner vs Emil Ruusuvuori: Prediction

Jannik Sinner will be playing at the ATP Washington 2021
Jannik Sinner

Sinner will be going into this match will a lot more confidence knowing he beat Ruusuvuori a few months on hard court. Sinner has a win-loss record of 24-14 this year across all surfaces and 14-6 on hard court. Sinner is most dominant on hard court having won both his titles on this surface.

On the other hand, Ruusuvuori has a win-loss record of 13-13 and 11-7 on hard court. Ruusuvuori made it really far into the tournament in Atlanta and will be motivated and confident to continue the same momentum in Washington.

Match Prediction: Sinner to win in three sets.

Jannik Sinner vs Emil Ruusuvuori: Live Streaming and Where to Watch

Match Timings:

  • Japan: 4:30 am (August 5th)
  • Delhi: 1:00 am (August 5th)
  • New York: 3:30 pm
  • Melbourne: 5:30 am (August 5th)
  • Brazil: 4:30 pm
CountryOfficial Broadcaster
IndiaEurosport
USATennis Channel
NetherlandsZiggo
EuropeEurosport
JapanWowow
AustraliaBeInsports
ChinaIqivi
GermanyAmazon Prime Video
FranceEuro Sport
CanadaESPN

Also read: ATP Washington 2021: Reilly Opelka vs Daniel Galan Preview, Head to Head, Prediction and Live stream for Citi Open