US Open 2020: Busta describes Djokovic’s elimination as “bad luck”

Djokovic's frustration costs him his Grand Slam title as he unintendedly hits a lineswomen with a ball. Busta describes his exit as "bad luck"

67
Novak Djokovic

World No.1 Novak Djokovic’s frustration of losing control over his match against Pablo Carreno Busta led him to unintentionally hit a ball on a lineswoman’s throat. The incident marked an end to Novak Djokovic’s US Open 2020 tour. Meanwhile, his opponent Busta described it as “bad luck” for World No. 1.

Novak never want to hit the line umpire: Busta

Pablo Carreno Busta

The Serb got defaulted and out of the tournament at the Flushing Meadows post an inadvertent reaction during the match. He hit a spare ball in disgust, which struck the line judge leaving her audibly gasping for air. He was eliminated by the tournament officials, with all his plead in vain. To add on, all his ranking points and prize money he gained in the US Open tour will be forfeited.

As Busta gets all prepared to face Shapovalov in the last eight, he stated the incident in a post-match media conference. “It’s just a moment, I broke him the serve, he throw the ball. I think it was bad luck. You cannot do this but of course I think Novak never want to hit the line umpire. The rules are the rules. I think both the referee and the supervisor do the right thing.”

Post his elimination, Djokovic skipped all of the post-match media commitments and reportedly left the site at Flushing Meadows.

Also Read: US Open 2020: Novak Djokovic to be fined with additional charges for skipping official press conference

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here