Who has the most Abu Dhabi GP wins?

Lewis Hamilton has won the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix the maximum number of times.

Who has the most Abu Dhabi GP wins?

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (via IMAGO)

The Abu Dhabi GP is one of the most anticipated events on a Formula 1 calendar. It has been running since 2009 and over the years, has produced some of the most memorable moments in the sport’s history. The event always garners immense interest whenever it takes place.


During its first two years the Abu Dhabi GP was run as the last event on an F1 calendar, and after that, was switched a bit up and down in the calendar. However, in the last few years, it has got back in its last place slot and has been running as the final race.

The event is conducted at the free-flowing Yas Marina circuit and has seen several drivers win the event. From the 2007 F1 world champion, Kimi Raikkonen to the former 7-time F1 world champion, Lewis Hamilton, there have been quite a few drivers who have tasted victory at the track.

Top 5 drivers with the most wins at the Abu Dhabi GP

5. Kimi Raikkonen (1 victory)

Starting from the south end to the north, the first name on the list is that of the former 2007 F1 world champion, Kimi Raikkonen.

Kimi Raikkonen
Kimi Raikkonen (Credits: Top gear)

The Finnish driver triumphed in the Abu Dhabi GP in 2012 with the Lotus F1 team but after that, was never really able to make a big impression in the mega event. He retired from the pinnacle of motor racing at the end of the 2021 season.

4. Nico Rosberg and Valtteri Bottas (1 victory)

The next names on this list are those of the former Mercedes drivers, Nico Rosberg and Valtteri Bottas. The duo have both scored 1 Abu Dhabi GP win each.

Nico Rosberg and Valtteri Bottas
Nico Rosberg and Valtteri Bottas (Credits: Daily Mail)

The 2016 world champion, Rosberg’s moment came in 2015 whereas Bottas’s win in the mega spectacle came during the 2017 season of the sport.

3. Sebastian Vettel (3 victories)

Sebastian Vettel during his Red Bull era was driving on a whole other level. He won the F1 world championship on four consecutive occasions with them.

Sebastian Vettel
Sebastian Vettel (Credits: Planet F1)

Meanwhile, between 2009 and 2013, he triumphed in the Abu Dhabi three times. He won the event in 2009, 2010, and 2013.

2. Max Verstappen (3 victories)

With Vettel out of the way, the list is down to the last two. The penultimate name on this esteemed list is that of the former 3-time F1 world champion, Max Verstappen.

Max Verstappen
Max Verstappen (Credits: Planet F1)

The Dutchman in his career so far, has triumphed in the event three times from 2020 onwards. He won the event in 2022 as well.

1. Lewis Hamilton (5 victories)

The driver with the most number of wins in Abu Dhabi is Lewis Hamilton. He secured his first Yas Marina win in 2011 with the Woking-based McLaren F1 team and after that, the rest four have all come with the Toto Wolff-led Mercedes outfit.

Lewis Hamilton
Lewis Hamilton (Credits: Daily Express)

Hamilton’s most recent win at the Abu Dhabi GP came during the 2019 season of the pinnacle of motor racing.

In case you missed it: