“Free Touchdown”: Twitter Reacts to Joe Burrow’s controversial TD against the Raiders

Twitter went crazy after Joe Burrow and Tyler Boyd combined to score a TouchDown for the Cincinnati Bengals in their 26-19 victory over the Raiders.

Joe Burrow scoring

The Cincinnati Bengals secured a historic 26-19 victory against the Las Vegas Raiders to win their first match in the playoff stages of the NFL after a whopping 31 years.

Bengals’ quarterback, Joe Burrow played a crucial role for his side sending in 2 touchdown passes to set them up for a victory, after they held on successfully for a final couple of minutes.

Joe Burrow controversially made a Touchdown pass to Tyler Boyd for the Cincinnati Bengals

Joe Burrow scoring
Joe Burrow in action for the Bengals against Las Vegas Raiders

However, one of Joe Burrow’s Touchdown passes, created a huge amount of furore, after a referee seemed to stop play just before the touchdown had been scored by Burrow’s teammate Tyler Boyd.

The controversial moment came in the 2nd quarter of the match on a key third-down play. Joe Burrow let go of his 10-yard pass down the touchline for Tyler Boyd, who eventually scored it to give them a massive 20-6 lead at the time. Incidentally, what people also noticed was that a referee had blown the whistle while the ball was in the air and had not been caught by Boyd.

The blow to the whistle should have meant that play is stopped, thereby nullifying the eventual touchdown. However, the referees did not call the play to be ended and allowed it to continue, after they deemed that the whistle was blown only after Tyler Boyd had caught the pass.

What does the NFL rules state on erroneous whistle blowing?

According to Rule 7, Section 2 (m) of the NFL rulebook, “when an official sounds his whistle erroneously while the ball is still in play, the ball becomes dead immediately.”The rule continues to state: “If the ball is a loose ball resulting from a legal forward pass, a free-kick, a fair-catch kick, or a scrimmage kick, the ball is returned to the previous spot, and the down is replayed.”

After the match, it was confirmed by Walt Anderson – the NFL’s senior vice president of officiating, that the referee had blown the while erroneously and therefore play could not be reviewed.

Twitter Reacts to the controversial Joe Burrow Touchdown pass

Also Read: Ja’Marr Chase shatters another record in a historical win for the Bengals