WTA Finals 2021 Prize Money, Tournament Details, Groups, Format, Broadcasting, Live Stream and more

WTA Finals 2021 Prize Money, Tournament Details, Groups, Format, Broadcasting, Live Stream and more

Aryna Sabalenka, Barbora Krejcikova, Karolina Pliskova - Top 3 seeds of the WTA Finals 2021

The WTA Finals 2021 will be the 50th edition of the Year-End championships on the WTA Tour in the Singles discipline. The tournament will take place in Guadalajara in Mexico, with Mexico hosting the WTA Finals for the first time ever. The tournament returns after a break in 2020 due to the Pandemic affecting the world and the Championships were cancelled last year.


World No. 1 Ashleigh Barty won the 2019 WTA Finals and was also the first player to qualify for this year’s edition but she later chose to withdraw her name having spent more than 8 months away from home and decided to end the season early and prepare for the 2022 Australian Summer. Barty’s withdrawal opened up an extra spot which was eventually grabbed by Anett Kontaveit.

Apart from World No. 4 Karolina Pliskova and World No. 5 Garbine Muguruza, all remaining 6 players are making their debut at the WTA Finals and with Barty’s withdrawal, it was confirmed that a new champion will be crowned this year.

WTA Finals 2021: Tournament Details

Ashleigh Barty
Ashleigh Barty with her 2019 WTA Finals Trophy
  • Tournament: WTA Finals 2021
  • Prize Money: $5,000,000
  • Dates: November 10 – November 17 2021
  • Venue: Guadalajara, Mexico
  • Surface: Indoor Hard Court

WTA Finals 2021: Groups

Group A consists of top-seeded Aryna Sabalenka, 4th seeded Maria Sakkari, 5th seeded Iga Swiatek and the 7th seeded Paula Badosa.


Group B consists of 2nd seeded Barbora Krejcikova, 3rd seeded Karolina Pliskova, 6th seeded Garbine Muguruza and 8th seeded Anett Kontaveit.

Aryna SabalenkaBarbora Krejcikova
Maria SakkariKarolina Pliskova
Iga SwiatekGarbine Muguruza
Paula Badosa Anett Kontaveit

WTA Finals 2021: Format

Aryna Sabalenka
Aryna Sabalenka – top seed of the WTA Finals 2021

The 8 qualified players have been drafted into 2 groups and will play in the Round-Robin format with the top 2 players from each group qualifying for the semi-finals. The winner of Group 1 will play the 2nd placed player of Group 2 and vice versa.

The final standings will be made using three parameters, the most number of matches won, the most number of matches played. In case of two players finishing on the same number of wins, their head-to-head results will be taken into consideration.

If three players are tied then:


1 – If three players each have the same number of wins, a player having played less than all three matches is automatically eliminated and the player advancing to the single elimination competition is the winner of the match-up of the two remaining tied players
2 – The highest percentage of sets won
3 – The highest percentage of games won.

WTA Finals 2021: Prize Money

The individual breakdown of prize money for every round has not been made public yet. The tournament has a financial commitment of $5,000,000 that will be split into the 8 players as per their wins and rounds they qualify into.

WTA Finals 2021: Broadcast and Live Stream Details

The broadcasting of the tournament will be done worldwide and different channels and their respective applications will stream the matches. Below are a few selected countries, the remaining countries and their respective broadcasting channels are available here.

Area Broadcaster
AustraliabeIN SPORTS Australia
Canada TSN
France                        beIN
Japan DAZN
PortugalEleven Sports
Russia Eurosport
United KingdomAmazon Prime Video
United States                Tennis Channel           

Also Read: Find out about the newly implemented rules at the 2021 NextGen ATP Finals