Lionel Messi and Kylian Mbappe nominated for Laureus Sportsperson of the Year award along with Rafael Nadal, Stephen Curry, and others

PS teammates Lionel Messi and Kylian Mbappe are nominated for the prestigious annual Laureus World Sport awards

Lionel Messi and Kylian Mbappe nominated for Laureus Sportsperson of the Year award along with Rafael Nadal, Stephen Curry, and others

Lionel ,Messi and Kylian Mbappe during the World Cup final

Argentine superstar Lionel Messi has landed himself in yet another race for the honor after he was nominated for the Laureus Sportsperson of the Year award, alongside Paris Saint-Germain teammate Kylian Mbappe. Athletes like Rafael Nadal, Stephen Curry, Max Verstappen, Mondo Duplantis, and others have also been nominated for the award race.


The 35-year-old superstar led his country to its third FIFA World Cup title after an intense battle with Mbappe’s French side in the final. PSG teammates Messi and Mbappe put up an enthralling show in Qatar to produce one of the finest World Cup finals in history. After seizing the FIFA World Cup trophy at the Lusail Stadium last year, Lionel Messi will be on the hunt for yet another prestigious trophy to add to his brimming trophy cabinet.

Kylian Mbappe, on the other hand, has very quietly made it to yet another top award nomination at such a young age. The 24-year-old Frenchman has found his spot among top sporting personalities like Max Verstappen and Rafael Nadal.

The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual award event, in the honor of sportsmen and women and their efforts throughout the year. Laureus Sport for Good Foundation, led by founding partners Daimler and Richemont established the ceremony in 1999. Tennis legend


In case you missed-

More to know about Laureus World Sports Award

The Laureus World Sports award (Photo via Google Images)

Many athletes across the world of sports have attended the prestigious award ceremony. The first Laureus World Sports Event was held on 25 May 2000 in Monte Carlo. The function was addressed by South African president Nelson Mandela.

Lionel Messi has already won the 2020 Sportsman of the Year award. He shared the title with F1 star Lewis Hamilton. Clubs like Manchester United, Barcelona, and Bayern Munich have won the best team of the year award in the past. The Azzuris won last year’s best team award ahead of their stunning UEFA Euro performance. Football icons like Pele, Zinedine Zidane, Johan Cruyff, Bobby Charlton, Arsene Wenger, and a few more have also won the ‘Lifetime’ Laurues World Sport award.

Roger Federer is the player with the most number of ‘Laureus Sportsperson of the Year awards. The Spaniard is holding 5 titles to his name. Tennis legend Serena Williams also holds five Laureus Awards. She has won one “Comeback of the Year” and four Sportswomen of the Year awards.


Related Stories