IPL 2020 SRH vs KKR: Lockie Ferguson the difference for Kolkata Knight Riders as Hyderabad get beaten in super over

Match No. 35 of Dream11 IPL 2020 witnessed the third super over of the tournament after the scores of SRH and KKR were leveled on the final ball of the match

Lockie Ferguson after dismissing David Warner in the Super Over

The Indian Premier League (IPL) season 13 witnessed another tense fight between Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) leading to the third super over of the tournament. The game was won by Lockie Ferguson for KKR after an impressive bowling display in the super over.

Lockie Ferguson playing his first game in IPL 2020 for KKR turned out to be the match-winner in the super over. Ferguson given the job to bowl the super-over, required only 3 balls to take the two wickets of David Warner and Abdul Samad. SRH could only manage 2/2 in the ultimate decider.

Chasing 3 runs KKR decided to go with the reliable batters in the form of Dinesh Karthik and Eoin Morgan. The duo played two dot balls but eventually made the necessary three runs as KKR won the decider.

Also Read:IPL 2020 : KKR have put more pressure on themselves, something is happening in the camp which is not right, feels Brian Lara

Another Super Over in IPL 2020

SRH vs KKR Preview
SRH vs KKR in IPL 2020

SRH vs KKR gave another super over to IPL 2020 which has already seen two in the tournament earlier. Hyderabad were chasing 164 runs target set by KKR. SRH were 146/6 at the end of 19 overs with Warner and Samad at the crease. They required 18 runs in the final over which was bowled by Andre Russell who had injured his hamstring while fielding. Russell was not in his best condition and bowled a poor last over conceding three boundaries plus a no-ball. Warner took advantage of Russell but could only make 17 runs as the scores were leveled.

Warner remained unbeaten on 48 runs as his side were still in the game for the super over. Samad made 23 runs from 15 balls alongside the SRH skipper.

SRH did very well at the start of the innings with Kane Williamson opening the batting along with Jonny Bairstow.  David Warner moved down to number four and played a finishers innings in the end as both teams could not be separated based on runs.

Williamson even though being injured played brilliant shots and notched up 29 runs in 19 balls with 4 boundaries and a six. Priyam Garg was given a chance at number 3 but failed to grasp the opportunity and was out for 4. Lockie Ferguson ended with bowling figures of 4-0-15-3 while Cummins, Chakravarthy, and Mavi picked one wicket each.

Karthik and Morgan squeeze 42 runs in the final three overs

KKR Skipper Eoin Morgan and Dinesh Karthik during SRH vs KKR

KKR batting first started cautiously with Shubman Gill and Rahul Tripathi opening the batting. Gill was dropped when batting on 1 run by Rashid Khan, while Tripathi played aggressive shots in the powerplay.  Tripathi could not gather the momentum as he got bowled by Natrajan in the 6th over. Gill looked to play the slow wicket down and eventually played too many dot balls. As a result of pressure mounting to score runs, he gave his wicket to Rashid Khan for 36 runs.

 Nitish Rana started his innings on a high, but could not progress further as he got out for 29 runs. Andre Russell’s lack of form continued in IPL 2020 as the West Indian could only make 9 runs in 11 balls faced.

KKR looked like making a below-par score as the batsmen started well but failed to convert the starts into big runs. KKR’s former captain Dinesh Karthik and newly crowned captain Eoin Morgan then managed to get the runs in the final three overs.  Morgan and Karthik brought up a partnership of 59 runs with scoring 42 in the final three overs.

T Natrajan got two wickets for 40 runs while Basil Thampi playing his first game in IPL 2020 got one wicket for 46 runs.

Also Read:IPL 2020: Twitter reacts as Lockie Ferguson pulls off incredible Super Over victory for KKR


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here