Olympic stars Katie Ledecky and Mikaela Shiffrin nominated for Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year 2023

Two of the best American Olympic stars have been nominated for Laureus Sportswoman of the Year Award 2023

Olympic stars Katie Ledecky and Mikaela Shiffrin nominated for Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year 2023

Credits: Public domain

Olympic athletes Katie Ledecky and Mikaela Shiffrin are amongst the favorites out of the ones nominated to win the Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year 2023. This award is handed to sportswomen from across fields for their remarkable achievements and contribution to sport throughout the year.

To date, American sportswomen have won the highest of this award and have been nominated a record number of times compared to other nationalities. The Americans now have ten wins and 29 nominations and counting. Serena Williams holds the record of winning this award the highest number of times as a woman, with four wins.


Mikaela Shiffrin and Katie Ledecky have been phenomenal in their field of sport, with Shiffrin crossing American skiing legend Lindsey Vonn’s record of World tournament wins. American swimmer Katie Ledecky won four golds this year at the 2022 World Championships, making her one of the most worthy candidates for this award.

Other Olympians nominated for this award are Jamaican sprinter Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Polish tennis player Iga Swiatek, and Spanish soccer player Alexia Putellas. The previous year in 2022, Elaine Thompson-Herah from Jamaica won the award after sweeping three golds at the Tokyo Olympics.

Related: Mikaela Shiffrin “keep it rolling” recalls Roger Federer and Aleksander Kilde’s advice following failed World Championship attempt


Olympic stars Mikaela Shiffrin, Katie Ledecky, and other sports persons nominated for the Laureus World Sports Award 2023

The Laureus Award (Credits: Laureus Sport)

The Laureus World Sports Award was established in 1999 to honor sportspersons who have par excellence in their field for contribution to the sporting fraternity. The sportsperson with the highest number of wins for this award is Tennis legend Roger Federer, with 5 wins. He is closely followed by another Tennis legend, Serena Williams, with 4 wins.

For the title of Sportsman of the Year, there are several names, such as the Swede pole vault star Mondo Duplantis, the Golden State Warriors star Stephen Curry, and soccer players Kylian Mbappe and Lionel Messi, who have recently featured in the 2022 FIFA World Cup, final in Qatar.

The other stars who have also been nominated are tennis player Rafael Nadal and Formula One racer for Red Bull Racing Max Verstappen. Verstappen received the trophy last year after winning his maiden Driver World Championship title in 2021.


Other than these stars, other categories have considerable favorites as well. For Breakthrough of the year, skater Nathan Chen and hurdler Tobi Amusan hold high contention for the trophy. American Paralympic stars Oksana Masters and Declan Farmer stand firm as nominees for Sportsperson of the Year with a disability.

A 71-member panel of the Laureus World Sports Academy will decide the winners of these awards. A 1400-member Global Media Panel of this organization decided the nominations for the same. Award winners in the categories mentioned will be revealed between March to May 2023.

In case you missed it:


Lindsey Vonn SLAUGHTERS trolls on social media following Mikaela Shiffrin’s iconic 83rd World Cup win

How a lunch with Roger Federer fuelled Mikaela Shiffrin’s stunning 83rd World Cup performance

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!