The 10 Shortest WWE Title Reigns in WWE History

Take a look at the list of 10 wrestlers who have the record for the shortest title reigns in WWE history.

The 10 Shortest WWE Title Reigns in WWE History

Superstars with Shortest Title Reigns

In WWE, it is all about good rivalries, storylines, performances, gimmicks, and performance. The superstar gets a title shot if they prove themselves inside the ring. There is hardly any time that a title is vacant in WWE. So many superstars have held this title for a long time. However, there are a few who couldn’t cement their reigns.

These short title reigns demonstrate that anything can happen in the unpredictable world of WWE. Despite their brief runs as champions, these wrestlers will always be remembered for their contributions to the sport and their ability to entertain fans around the world. Here are some wrestlers who had the shortest WWE title reigns.


Related: 10 gimmick changes that desperately saved a wrestler’s career in WWE

#10. Rey Mysterio

Rey Mysterio
Rey Mysterio (Image by WWE)

Mysterio won the tournament held due to the vacant WWE Title in WWE. Before this event, the reigning champion at the time was controversial, as both CM Punk and John Cena claimed to be the champion. However, CM Punk left WWE, and John Cena ended his reign due to this controversy. Rey Mysterio‘s reign lasted only 1 hour and 15 minutes.

#9. Randy Orton

Randy Orton
Randy Orton (Image by WWE)

Mr. McMahon gave the WWE title Randy Orton due to a special stipulation at No Mercy 2007. The scheduled match was between Randy and John, but Cena got injured and Triple H challenged Randy Orton on the same night. Triple H won that match and within 25 minutes, Randy lost his title.


#8. Daniel Bryan

Daniel Bryan
Daniel Bryan (Image by WWE)

In SummerSlam 2013, Daniel Bryan defeated Cena in a special guest referee match, Triple H. Later in the night, Triple H hit him with a ‘Pedigree’ and allowed Randy Orton to pin him after cashing in his MITB. This allowed the beginning of ‘The Authority’. Daniel Bryan lost the title within 5 minutes and 25 seconds.

#7. Roman Reigns

Roman Reigns
Roman Reigns (Image by WWE)

In Survivor Series 2015, Roman Reigns defeated Dean Ambrose for the vacant championship, which was previously held by Seth Rollins. Just after 5 minutes and 15 seconds, he lost the title as Sheamus cashed in his MITB contract after the match.

#6. Jeff Hardy

Jeff Hardy
Jeff Hardy (Image by WWE)

In Extreme Rules 2009, Jeff Hardy won the World Heavyweight Championship by defeating Edge in a ladder match. After the match, CM Punk cashed in his MITB contract. Jeff Hardy lost the title within 5 minutes.


#5. John Cena

John Cena
John Cena (Image by WWE)

In the main event of Elimination Chamber 2010, John Cena won the 6-way match, defeating five RAW superstars. After the match, Mr. McMahon interfered and declared a rematch between John Cena and Batista. Batista won that match within 4 minutes.

#4. Yokozuna

Yokozuna (Image by WWE)

He won his first WWE title after defeating Bret Hart at WrestleMania 9. Later, Hulk Hogan interfered with his celebration and challenged him right there for the WWE title. Yokozuna lost the match within 2 minutes and 20 seconds.

#3. Seth Rollins

Seth Rollins
Seth Rollins (Image by WWE)

After returning from an injury, Seth Rollins defeated Roman Reigns for the WWE Championship at MITB 2016. Soon after he started celebrating his victory, Dean Ambrose hit him with a ‘Dirty Deeds’ and won the title in 2 minutes.


#2. Andre the Giant

Andre The Giant
Andre the Giant (Image by WWE)

The most infamous match of all time, Andre vs. Hulk Hogan, occurred in February 1988. Andre defeated him cleanly, but soon he forfeited his title. He gave his title to Ted DiBiase within 1 minute and 45 seconds.

#1. Big Show

Big Show
Big Show (Image by WWE)

Another case of cashing in the MITB contract happened after the match between Big Show and Mark Henry. Big Show defeated Mar Henry cleanly, but soon Daniel Bryan cashed in his Money in the Bank briefcase after Mark Henry attacked him. Big Show lost his title within 45 seconds.

In Case You Missed:


Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!